## **Academic Common Market**

The Academic Common Market is an agreement among participating Southern Regional Education Board states (Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia). According to the agreement, if one of these states does not offer a particular degree program in its state-supported universities, a resident of that state may enroll in that degree program at a university in one of the other states without having to pay out-of-state tuition. Each state specifies which programs offered at out-of-state universities it will allow its residents to attend as common market students.

To be eligible for consideration for the Common Market at Auburn, students must be accepted into a degree program that qualifies for academic common market status, classified as a junior or senior at Auburn, and have a 3.0 GPA for all college-level coursework attempted. Auburn students who enter as common market students and do not complete 12 hours per term, do not maintain a 3.0 cumulative GPA, or who do not remain in the originally approved program, lose the waiver of out-of-state tuition.

Since out-of-state residence is a requirement for being a common market student, students may not use the time spent as common market students to qualify them as residents of Alabama.

See the Academic Common Market (https://www.auburn.edu/academic/provost/academic-common-market/) website for more information. Applications for Fall Semester open April 1 and close May 31. Applications for Spring Semester open August 1 and close September 30.